FTCE Middle Grades English 5-9 Exam

The FTCE Middle Grades English 5-9 subject examination consists of two parts: 80 multiple-choice questions and an essay. Multiple-choice question formats will include direct question, sentence completion, command, and scenario. Each question will contain four response options, which will be answered by bubbling in choice A, B, C, or D.

The test encompasses 7 core competencies, each with between 4 and 17 skill areas. Competencies are defined as areas of content knowledge, with skills being the behaviors that demonstrate those competencies. Each competency is also assigned a percentage representing the approximate proportion of test items in that content area on the test. Together, the competencies and skills are representative of knowledge that has been determined by content specialists to be important for beginning teachers.

Test-takers will need to demonstrate knowledge of the characteristics of students in order to make instructional decisions for teaching and learning language arts; applications of evidence-based research and best practices in teaching language arts; language arts content; pedagogical content for teaching language arts; various assessments and use of corresponding data to drive instructional decisions within language arts;and the application of the collaborative processes of reading and writing.

FTCE Middle Grades English 5-9 Exam Practice Questions

1. A(n) _____________________ presents content, skills, and thinking processes, along with assessments among the disciplines.
A. active learning paradigm
B. interdisciplinary learning experience
C. conceptualization style
D. observational learning approach

2. Phonological awareness, as it relates to characteristics of emergent literacy, means:
A. the conscious ability to detect and manipulate sound and the awareness of sounds in spoken words in contrast to written text
B. knowledge of the semantic and visual structure of text
C. knowledge that words convey a message from spoken language or from visual communications
D. reading, writing. and spelling in a conventional manner

3. Which best describes “metacognition”?
A. lack of personal understanding of the process of thought and knowledge
B. a love of lifelong learning
C. the awareness and recognition of key characters in a written work
D. knowledge of the process of thinking

4. Professors Wolff-Michael Roth and Lee Yew Jin have suggested that until the early 1990s, a student was typically viewed as a “unit of instruction.” Since then, Roth and Lee have claimed that many educational practices now utilize a form of shared experience and knowledge through what is known as __________________.
A. peer learning
B. a humanistic approach
C. a learning community
D. strategic adaptations

5. A brainstorming technique that encourages a student to consider a topic from six different directions or approaches is often called:
A. freewriting
B. cubing
C. mapping
D. clustering

Answer Key

1. B. An interdisciplinary learning experience is based on three-part structure as a way to investigate and explore connections among the various disciplines.
2. A. Phonological awareness relates to ability to move, combine, and delete sounds and access the sound structure of language.
3. D. Metacognition refers to higher-order thinking that involves the cognitive processes utilized in learning.
4. C. Learning communities encourage individual students to collaborate with one another and share their learning methods and processes.
5. B. A cube has six sides and students should approach a topic from six angles: description, comparison, association, application, analysis, and argument.